coming out of the closet

I’m going to come out with it….our dirty little secret….

Adam and Reid do not yet poop on the potty. They had finally gotten to a point of pooping in the evening, into a diaper, that we were happy to keep it that way. Until yesterday.

I got a phone call that Reid wasn’t feeling well at school, could I come get him. So I popped into my car and zipped over to school. He was napping, but I picked him up and took him back to my car.

I asked him what was wrong. and he told me that he had to poop in a diaper. So I took him home and let him do it.

But last night, “I threw down the gauntlet” and decided that we were no longer going to allow diapers at all. They will be four in two months, and are old enough to stay dry throughout the night and to poop into the potty or toilet.

Adam spent 45 minutes to 1 hour screaming about how scared he was, and Reid spent the time *ahem* in other ways. They went to bed late, but in underwear. David woke them up at 1 am, and they both peed. This morning we only had dry beds. So that was definitely a success.

Tonight after dinner we’ll try it again.

Leave a comment