Raisins

Thank goodness for raisins. My life has completely changed for the better. Dorothy was, ahem, exerting her indpendence and not wanting to get buckled into her seat in the car. She put up such a battle that we pretty much stopped going out for a while. it was that bad.

One of our friends from Stroller Fit  suggested that I give her a raisin when we get into the car, and to make that a special, only eat in the car, when you get buckled in, snack.

That suggestion has changed our life. When we’re getting ready to leave the house, I start talking about how we’re getting in the car and we have to get in the seat, and what do we get when we go in the car? Dorothy chimes in “Raisin” and as we get closer to the car she’s going “raisin, raisin, raisin” and when I buckle her in, she gets one, sometimes 2 raisins. But if she puts up a fight, none.

 I can count on my hand how many times we’ve had problems in the last week. like none, maybe 1. we used to be the last car to leave after Stroller Fit, now I can put my stuff away like a person and not have to fight with Dorothy.

Yay Raisins.

Leave a Reply

