5 long years

Today is the 5th anniversary of September 11. I cannot believe that it has been 5 years. Last night David and I watched a documentary that was filmed almost accidentally that day, and it reminded me of so many things: how beautiful it was that day, how utterly chaotic it was, and how it changed our lives so dramatically in an instant. Its hard for me to realize that the NY skyline that Dorothy will grow up knowing will be completely different than the one that I grew up with. And she’ll never know that life was different before the towers came down. I have not visited the World Trade Center since I was a child, and I could not bring myself to visit after the towers fell. Probably one day we’ll bring Dorothy there, and we’ll have to figure out a way to explain it to her.

now onto happier topics:

Here are two really great videos of Dorothy walking!

And a picture of Dorothy eating!
She started really walking about a week ago, and eating a little bit before that. Both events are huge milestones. But when people ask me what she’s up to, I always say the ‘eating’ first. She skipped the baby foood altogether, and now eats just about everything. She eats grilled cheese, chicken, pasta, all manner of fruit, and not so many veggies. I couldn’t be prouder!
2 responses to “5 long years

  1. Good for you Dorothy!!!!!!!!!!!! We miss you guys.

    Bridget and Everett

  2. Poppy here. I know I have not posted any comments to your blog and I promise to be more vigilant about checking out this site more often. Well, when my grandaughter starts to walk is certainly a time to be happy. I cannot wait to take Dorothy on her first walk (with me). It will be an honor to hold her hand and show her the sights of her new perspective of her world.

Leave a Reply

